Register of Deeds

Office Hours

8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.


(308) 286-3413


(308) 286-3208


P.O. Box 370
505 Troth Street
Hayes Center, NE 69032


County Clerk

Nebraska Form 521 fill-in form

Nebraska Form 521MH fill-in form

Susan Messersmith

Hayes County Register of Deeds

Rebecca Grimes


The Register is responsible for receiving and recording all legal documents affecting Real Estate within Hayes County.

ALL INSTRUMENTS; (Effective Jan. 1, 2013, LB14) e.g.,  Deeds, Construction Liens, Mortgages, Lis Pendens, Releases, Affidavits, Contracts, Assignments, etc. are figured on the basis of $10.00 for the first page, plus $6.00 for each additional page (front and back count as two pages).  There are no fees charged for lots or sections of land.

SPACE REQUIREMENT, as set forth in § 23-1503.1:  A 3" x 8 1/2" space at the TOP of the FIRST PAGE of each instrument for recording shall be left blank for recording  information ONLY.  If this space is not provided, The Register of Deeds is authorized to attach an extra sheet of paper to the instrument, placing it as the first page, and charge an additional $6.00 in recording fee.  Note:  Taping to an 8 1/2" x 11" document to create sufficient space is not permitted.

DOCUMENTARY STAMP TAX on deeds is $2.25 per thousand dollars of actual purchase price on transactions that are not exempt under state statute.  If the property transfers for nominal consideration, documentary stamp tax will be collected on assessed value.
Nebraska Documentary Stamp Tax Computation Table

UCC FILING FEES: $10 for the first page of each  initial financing statement, amendment, assignment, continuation statement, partial release or correction statement. $.50 for each additional page.

There is no fee for recording termination statements.

FEDERAL TAX and STATE LIENS have to be recorded in the secretary of state's office first, then the secretary of state forwards them to the register of deeds.

CERTIFIED COPIES: $1.50 for each page of the copy.